Egton cum Newlands St Mary

Form 1A

(Rules 3.2 and 4.6)

Standard Information (parish churches etc.)

Egton cum Newlands St Mary
Carlisle Diocese Code: 7450
National Church Code: 607175
Carlisle
Egton cum Newlands St Mary
Egton cum Newlands
Egton cum Newland and Lowick and Colton
Furness
1791
No
No
No
No
No
-The approach along an avenue of trees
No
None
No
No
No
No
None
Paul Grout Associates
19/12/2011
The church is an unusual mix of styles that is only explained by the complicated history of its construction. The first building on the site was a Chapel-of-Ease attached to Ulverston Parish Church and consecrated in 1791. Apparently it was a long building with a massive tower at the west end but in 1831 it was enlarged to create 223 extra seats and the present Chancel was added in 1855. There was a major rebuilding in 1865 to the designs of the architect E.G. Paley and it is his plain Gothic structure that can be experienced internally but can now only be glimpsed from the outside. Of note are the ‘tuck’ pointed arches between the aisle and the Nave. Paley did not demolish the original tower; however, this was done in 1893 as part of further alterations. Three years earlier a South Transept had been built and the organ, by Wilkinson of Kendall, moved into it. In 1969 the west wall and steeple, having been found unstable, had to be taken down. This west wall was rebuilt and a new porch and tower were created to a design by Frearson. The church is certainly an eclectic mix! It would be fascinating to carry out a thorough assessment of historic fabric and define the work of E.G. Paley which includes the pulpit. Internally, the fine stained glass windows are all by W. Wayles of Newcastle. There is also a painting of the crucifixion by T.R.G. Braddyl and a Funerary Hatchment of 1791.
Unknown
Unknown
09/11/2015