Diocese of Carlisle

Ministry Development


Ministry Development Administrator

Steve Minto
Steve supports the development of ministry, vocations and training across the county, specifically, the administration of data for Reader and Lay ministry and Initial Ministerial Education Phase 2, the Continuing Ministerial Development process and the Diocese of Carlisle’s work to promote, develop and process Vocations.

T: 01768 807765
E: steve.minto@carlislediocese.org.uk

Diocesan Director of Vocations

The Rev Canon Peter Clement
Peter encourages people to consider how they should serve God and their neighbour, and by doing this to live out their calling to follow Jesus.

T: 01768 807777 Ext 220/07823 415815
E: peter.clement@carlislediocese.org.uk

Growing Younger Enabler

Sarah Hulme
Sarah works to encourage and equip missional approaches to younger generations, working closely with the Norwegian Mission Society around the IX12 intern programme, developing Network Youth Church, encouraging young leadership and vocations and a missional focus around children, young people and families. Her usual working days are Monday, Wednesday and Thursday.

T: 07584 684310
E: sarah.hulme@carlislediocese.org.uk

Continuing Ministerial Development and Leadership Enabler

The Rev Jane Maycock
Jane works with lay and clergy together to support Mission Communities, and organises training and development for clergy in their ministry.

T: 01768 807777
E: jane.maycock@carlislediocese.org.uk

Self Supporting Ministry Support

The Rev Canon Elaine Bates
Elaine is a non-stipendiary priest living in Barrow. She is Associate Priest at St. Paul's Church, Barrow and supports the work of the God for All Team in various ways, particularly in Lay Development and IME1 for which she is the Placement Supervising Tutor.

T: 01229 822149
E: elaine.bates@carlislediocese.org.uk

Self Supporting Ministry Convenor

The Rev Canon Nick Hallam
Nick works with the Archdeaconry SSM/NSM Representatives to support SSM/NSMs in the diocese and keep up with developments about SSM/NSM in the wider church.

T: 015394 36069
E: nick.hallam@uwclub.netk

Warden of Readers

Prof Annie Garden
Annie is responsible for the selection and training of readers; for the encouragement of readers in their pastoral and liturgical ministries; and for their continuing education and training.

Shuna, Back Lane, Arnside, Carnforth LA5 0BS. 
T: 01768 807760
E: annie@annegarden.uk