Diocese of Carlisle

Senior Diocesan Staff

The following staff are based at the Diocesan Offices at the following address: Church House, 19-24 Friargate, Penrith Cumbria, CA11 7XR.

Diocesan Secretary

Derek Hurton
Derek has overall responsibility for all central support services relating to diocesan property, land, the pastoral measure, safeguarding of children and vulnerable adults, IT and the Diocesan Advisory and other committees.

T: 01768 807760
E: derek.hurton@carlislediocese.org.uk

Deputy Diocesan Secretary and Head of Finance

Ric Jaques
Ric has overall responsibility for monitoring the diocesan budget, parish share, insurances and pastoral account as well as deputising for Diocesan Secretary duties.

T: 01768 807761
E: ric.jaques@carlislediocese.org.uk

Diocesan Director of Education

Charlotte Tudway
Charlotte manages the education team leading on implementing the Board of Education’s Vision and strategy and ensures the development of effective networks and partnerships locally and nationally.

T: 01768 807766/07917 993659
E: director.education@carlislediocese.org.uk

Head of Property and Pastoral

Neal Andrews
Neal manages all diocesan property including clergy housing, glebe properties, closed school buildings and advises on trust property. He oversees the support of the Mission and Pastoral committees, associated work under the Mission and Pastoral measure and processes for closure and disposal of redundant churches.

T: 01768 807762/07584 684298
E: neal.andrews@carlislediocese.org.uk

Head of Human Resources and Governance

Ali Ng
Ali is responsible for providing the HR and Governance service to the Diocese. This includes HR policies and procedures, employment law, clergy terms of service, support to parishes, GDPR and overseeing the governance, administration and secretarial functions.

T: 01768 807777 Ext 214/07468 720292
E: ali.ng@carlislediocese.org.uk

Head of Communications

Dave Roberts
Dave oversees all internal and external communications for the Diocese and the God for All strategy. 

T: 01768 807764/07469 153658
E: communications@carlislediocese.org.uk

Diocesan Registrar

Laura Peace
A Diocesan Registrar is the Bishop's legal secretary and adviser to the Bishop and the Diocesan Office. Registrars are usually solicitors. Our Registrar is Laura Peace:

Carlisle Diocesan Registry
The Cube
Barrack Rd
Newcastle upon Tyne
T: 0191 226 7827
E: laura.peace@sintons.co.uk

Diocesan Chancellor

Geoffrey Tattersall QC
A Diocesan Chancellor has the status of a Judge. The Chancellor is the person who, having taken advice from the Diocesan Advisory Committee, decides on and grants Faculties. Our Chancellor is Mr Geoffrey Tattersall, QC. He is also the Judge of Appeal in the Isle of Man, and Chairman of the Clergy Disciplinary Tribunals.