Diocese of Carlisle

Bishops and Senior Clergy


The Bishop of Carlisle

The Rt Rev James Newcome

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: bishop.carlisle@carlislediocese.org.uk

Bishop's Chaplain

The Rev Canon Cameron Butland
Cameron works closely with the rest of the Bishop’s House Staff. He is in the office at some time most days but also travels around the county on behalf of the Bishop and in his other role as Diocesan Spirituality Adviser.

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: cameron.butland@carlislediocese.org.uk

Personal Assistant to the Bishop of Carlisle

Alison Tozer
Alison generally works Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday and is in the office between 9am and 5pm and organises the Bishop’s diary and correspondence. 

P:Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: alison.tozer@carlislediocese.org.uk

The Bishop of Penrith

The Rt Rev Dr Emma Ineson

P: Holm Croft, 13 Castle Road, Kendal, LA9 7AU.
T: 01539 727836
E: bishop.penrith@carlislediocese.org.uk

Archdeacon of Carlisle

The Ven Lee Townend

P: The Vicarage, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, CA10 2LT.
T: 07458 016925
E: archdeacon.north@carlislediocese.org.uk

Archdeacon of West Cumberland

The Ven Richard Pratt

P: Moorside, 50 Stainburn Road, Workington, Cumbria.
T: 01900 66190/07788 728508
E: archdeacon.west@carlislediocese.org.uk

Archdeacon of Westmorland & Furness

The Ven Vernon Ross

P: The Vicarage, Windermere Road, Lindale in Cartmel, Grange over Sands, Cumbria, LA11 6LB.
T: 015395 34717
E: archdeacon.south@carlislediocese.org.uk

PA to the Archdeacons of Cumbria

Sarah Mackie

T: 01768 807772
E: sarah.mackie@carlislediocese.org.uk

Dean of Carlisle

The Very Rev Mark Boyling

P: The Deanery, The Abbey, Carlisle, CA3 8TZ.
T: 01228 523335/01228 548107
E: dean@carlislecathedral.org.uk