Diocese of Carlisle

Bishops and Senior Clergy


The Bishop of Carlisle

Vacancy in See

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: bishop.carlisle@carlislediocese.org.uk

The Bishop of Penrith

The Rt Rev Rob Saner-Haigh

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430/07780 876370
E: bishop.penrith@carlislediocese.org.uk

Acting Bishop's Chaplain

Ali Ng
Ali works closely with the rest of the Bishop’s House Staff.

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: bishop.chaplain@carlislediocese.org.uk

Personal Assistant to the Bishop of Carlisle

Alison Tozer
Alison generally works Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday and is in the office between 9am and 5pm and organises the Bishop’s diary and correspondence. 

P:Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 017687 73430
E: alison.tozer@carlislediocese.org.uk

Bishop's Secretary

Felicity Wiseman
Working collaboratively with the rest of the Team, Felicity provides administrative and organisational support to the Bishop of Carlisle.

T: 017687 73430 (Keswick)
E: felicity.wiseman@carlislediocese.org.uk

Bishop's Office Administrator

Liz Howson
Liz is responsible for the administration of clergy appointments, retirements and HR alongside administering Permission to Officiate for retired clergy. She also acts as a link between Bishop’s House and Church House, working closely with both teams.

T: 017687 73430 (Keswick)
E: liz.howson@carlislediocese.org.uk

Personal Assistant to the Bishop of Penrith

Sarah Marshall-Ellison
Sarah works Monday to Thursday and organises the Bishop’s diary and correspondence. 

P: Bishop's House, Ambleside Road, Keswick, CA12 4DD.
T: 07780 876370
E: sarah.marshall-ellison@carlislediocese.org.uk

Interim Archdeacon of Carlisle

The Ven Penny Driver

T: 07780 318818
E: archdeacon.north@carlislediocese.org.uk

The Rev Ruth Newton has been appointed the new Archdeacon of Carlisle and will start in post in August.

Archdeacon of West Cumberland

The Ven Stewart Fyfe

P: Holme Cultram Vicarage, Abbeytown, Wigton, CA7 4SP. 
T: 07552 428772
E: archdeacon.west@carlislediocese.org.uk

Archdeacon of Westmorland and Furness

The Ven Vernon Ross

P: The Vicarage, Windermere Road, Lindale in Cartmel, Grange over Sands, Cumbria, LA11 6LB.
T: 015395 34717
E: archdeacon.south@carlislediocese.org.uk

PA to the Archdeacons of Cumbria

Philip Brunskill

T: 01768 807772/07780 726042
E: philip.brunskill@carlislediocese.org.uk

The Dean of Carlisle

The Very Rev Jonathan Brewster

T: 01228 548107
E: dean@carlislecathedral.org.uk