WWelcome to Carlisle Diocese

We look after 351 churches and 105 schools, from Barrow in Furness to Bewcastle and Nicholforest, from St Bees Head to Stainmore.

Our mission:
By God's grace to grow God's Kingdom in Cumbria.

Our vision:
To see our Churches growing Disciples of all ages. 



Click here for the MovingMountains Facebook page

(the latest news is on the Facebook page)

Click here for the MovingMountains webpage 


EeNews Bulletin

DDiocesan Calendar



The Abbey Singers Concert. Friday, 22nd ...
Posted Friday 15 March 2019
The Abbey Singers, directed by Jonathan Millican, is performing a concert of sacred music ...

Posted Thursday 7 March 2019
A conference and field visit to learn about the research processes used to discover the ...

Do you like Choral Evensong?
Posted Wednesday 6 March 2019
Every three months Choral Evensong is celebrated at St John’s Church, Grayrigg ...


Bishop James and senior church leaders step ...
Posted Tuesday 12 March 2019
The Bishop of Carlisle is set to be joined by other denominational leaders as he takes on a ...

A Cumbrian first as the new Bishop of ...
Posted Wednesday 27 February 2019
Hundreds of people have gathered at York Minster today (Wednesday 27 February, 2019) to ...

Biography - the Rev Dr Emma Ineson, the new ...
Posted Monday 25 February 2019
Emma was born in Birmingham and brought up in Kenya, where her parents helped train Kenyan ...

Final preparations for consecration of the ...
Posted Monday 25 February 2019
Final preparations are in place for the consecration of the new Suffragan Bishop of Penrith, ...

Roll up to one of the UK’s biggest Messy ...
Posted Tuesday 29 January 2019
Hundreds of people are set to roll up to Rheged for some circus-themed, free fun at ...


The Bishop of Carlisle uses his annual Christmas message to call on people to give their full attention to God and others during this year’s festivities.
View more videos ...

GGod for All

A fresh way to help everyone in Cumbria discover more of God and His purpose in their lives, and to encourage churches to be vibrant and loving communities serving and worshipping God.

View more ...

PPopular Pages



WWe have moved

The Diocese of Carlisle, Diocesan Board of Finance, Diocesan Board of Education, The Good Shepherd Multi Academy Trust and the Lancashire and Cumbria Theological Partnership/Cumbria Christian Learning's administrative offices have moved to:

Church House, 19-24 Friargate, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7XR.
Tel: 01768 807777 Fax: 01768 868918


A list of direct dial telephone contacts for departments at Church House in Penrith is as follows:

Diocesan Secretary: 01768 807760 (Derek Hurton/Eleanor Scott)
Finance: 01768 807761 (Ric Jaques/Angela Platts/Clare Hockenhull)
Property: 01768 807762 (Neal Andrews/Helen Harker)
Secretariat: 01768 807771 (Rosaleen Lane)
House services: 01768 807777 (Cath Bell)
Communications: 01768 807764 (Dave Roberts)
LCTP/CCL/Training: 01768 807765 (James Bober)

Michael Mill: 01768 807766
Deborah Smith: 01768 807767
Dorothy MacLeod: 01768 807768
Nancy Lush: 01768 807769

The Good Shepherd Multi Academy Trust:
Alison Gerke: 01768 807770