Diocese of Carlisle

About the Diocese of Carlisle

The Diocese of Carlisle covers the county of Cumbria and is led by the Diocesan Bishop, the Rt Rev James Newcome.

The Diocese is divided into 11 deaneries, and then into 104 benefices, each with a serving vicar. Each benefice consists of one or more parishes of which there are a total of 263 in the Diocese.

This structure is designed to make sure that everyone in the country has a parish church where they have the legally enforceable right to be baptised, to be married and to be buried; and to make sure that there are intermediate levels of responsibility, accountability and support.